[Skip to Content]
Award Title Description Local Section State
5S Recognizes individuals active in protecting the water environment through participation in Local, State, and/or Federal sponsored activities.  Nominations are being accepted through March 15, 2021.  Please consider nominating your peers who have or are contributing to the advancement of the wastewater profession.  This is not a self-nominating award.  Your peers count on you to recognize their achievements and nominate them. No Yes
Crystal Crucible The Laboratory committee recognizes significant participation in Wastewater Analysis, Education and Planning within a Wastewater Laboratory, along with 10 years of membership in CWEA. The nominee for this award must promote pride and safety in the workplace, teamwork, education and the promotion of professionalism in the wastewater laboratory field. No Yes
CWEA Quarter Century Award Recognizes water professionals for their commitment to improving the quality of life and the protection of the environment. CWEA Quarter Century Recognition Program honorees have dedicated their careers in a challenging and most vital profession, the water environment field. These essential professionals who have spent countless hours improving our water environment include: Operators; Collection System, Maintenance, Laboratory, and Environmental Compliance personnel; Engineers; and Administrators. No Yes
Gimmicks and Gadgets Recognizes innovation and creativity in developing solutions to performing routine tasks or functions in maintenance, operations or construction of wastewater collection systems. CASH PRIZES! No Yes
Golden Manhole Honors the inductees and their employers for their combined contributions which promote increased professionalism in the collection systems field. The winners are chosen by the Collection Systems committee. No Yes
PICK Recognizes volunteer efforts in service to the CWEA Collection Systems Committee with Professionalism, Ingenuity, Contribution and Knowledge. No Yes
Richard D. Pomeroy Presented for the practical application of an original concept that expands known techniques of wastewater collection. The nominee’s service must have been in any of the following areas: management, overall planning, operation and maintenance, facility design, education or training. Publication of a formal report of achievement is not required but is desirable. No Yes
MER Committee Nominations    
Arthur Sydney Bedell Award (MER Committee Nomination)

The Bedell Award was established to acknowledge extraordinary personal service to a WEF Member Association.

No Yes
George W. Burke (MER Committee Nomination) This award recognizes a municipal or industrial wastewater facility for establishing and maintaining an active and effective safety program. No Yes
William D. Hatfield (O&M Committee Nomination)

The Hatfield Award is presented to operators of wastewater treatment plants for outstanding performance and professionalism.

No Yes
Laboratory Analyst (MER Committee Nomination)

Recognizes individuals for outstanding performance, professionalism and contributions to the water quality analysis profession. The award is presented by a WEF representative at the WEF Member Association annual meeting.

No Yes
Annual Conference Competition    
Photo Contest

Each year the CWEA Annual Conference Photography Committee holds a photo contest that aligns with the conference theme. CASH PRIZES!

No Yes