[Skip to Content]
Award Title Description Local Section State
Safety Plant of the Year  Awarded in three categories: small, medium and large. Criteria include number of injuries, lost-time accidents, record keeping, in-house training, emergency response and program implementation. Yes Yes
George W. Burke 
(MER Committee Nomination)
Awarded to the highest score from the Safety nominations. This is a WEF award presented at the CWEA Annual Conference. This award was established in 1982 in honor of George W. Burke, Jr., for his many years of service to both the water environment field and WEF as staff manager of technical services. Mr. Burke was instrumental in developing WEF's annual safety survey and assisting in the production of several safety training aids and promotional packets. No Yes