[Skip to Content]

The Plant Safety award is awarded in three categories: small, medium and large. Criteria include number of injuries, lost-time accidents, record keeping, in-house training, emergency response and program implementation.


1. Download Safety Plant of the Year application form and complete

2. Upload completed form here

Questions about award criteria? Contact Larry Olivan, CWEA State Safety Chair, lolivan@oroloma.org

2016 Winners:

Safety Plant (Small): Carmel Area Wastewater District
Carmel is also receiving the Water Environment Federation’s George W. Burke Award as the highest rated agency in the Safety Category
The Burke award was established in 1982 to honor George W. Burke, Jr., for his many years of service to both the water environment field and WEF as staff manager of technical services. Mr. Burke was instrumental in developing WEF’s annual safety survey and assisting in the production of safety training aids and promotional packets.
The Carmel Area Wastewater District is a special district dedicated to the protection of public health and the environment through cost-effective collection and treatment of wastewater and the return of clean water to the environment.

Safety Plant (Medium): Central Marin Sanitation Agency
As a regional agency dedicated to the health of their community and the environment, Central Marin Sanitation Agency expert staff focuses on providing high quality wastewater-related services for the residents and businesses of central Marin County.

Safety Plant (Large): Central Contra Costa Sanitary District
Central San is a special district responsible for the collection and treatment of wastewater in a 146 square mile area of central Contra Costa County. Their mission is to protect public health and the environment.