[Skip to Content]

Navigate this award Purpose / Criteria / Categories / Nomination Process / Apply / Contact / Past Winners

State Award Only - not eligible at the Local Section level 


Since 1971, the Pretreatment, Pollution Prevention, and Stormwater (P3S) Committee of the California Water Environment Association (CWEA) has been recognizing the achievement of high performing industrial users with an annual Facility of the Year (FOTY) Awards program. The FOTY Awards are given to industrial users with significant accomplishments in the areas of industrial process wastewater pretreatment technology, material recycling, waste minimization, pollution prevention practices or stormwater runoff control programs. The FOTY Awards are presented annually at the FOTY Awards Luncheon scheduled during the P3S Annual Conference on February 11-13, 2019 in Monterey. The names of the winners are also announced at the awards luncheon at the CWEA Annual Conference in April 9-12, 2019 in Palm Springs.


The purpose of the FOTY Awards is to create incentive on the part of industrial users to take proactive steps to meet environmental pollution control standards. The FOTY Awards provide an opportunity for CWEA members to provide positive publicity and recognition of industrial user efforts and successes with protecting the environment.


The following criteria were approved by the CWEA Board of Directors and may be used for the selection of nominees:

  • Must be permitted by a control authority (CA) or otherwise regulated for water-quality.
  • Implementation of pollution prevention, waste minimization, water recycling, material recycling, or other source reduction measures.
  • Implementation of innovative solutions or technical advances in waste management.
  • Implementation of operation and preventative maintenance practices to improve environmental performance.
  • Consistent compliance with applicable permit requirements (i.e., operating without violations and/or “citation free” for the past 12 months).
  • Demonstration of active community involvement to develop public awareness for environmental protection.

Members of the Northern and Southern California Awards Subcommittees review the nominations and may select the semi-finalists. The Subcommittees may conduct a site visit of each of the semi-finalists. The semi-finalists are selected so as to represent a variety of types of industries located in a variety of control authorities throughout the state that best satisfy the FOTY Award’s criteria.


A total of four FOTY Awards may be given each year. The FOTY Award categories are “Large Industry” and “Small Industry” from both Northern and Southern California. An engraved plaque will be presented to the winning industries. Runners-up in each of the categories may be presented with a Certificate of Merit (COM).


Nominations for the FOTY Awards may be submitted by sanitation districts, publicly owned treatment works, municipalities, consultants, trade associations, or industries. Nominations can be through the CWEA Awards website by clicking the “Apply” button below.

Nominations for 2018 FOTY Awards are requested to be submitted by November 30, 2018 in order to be eligible for the selection process. The subcommittee chairs may grant extensions to this deadline.



Northern California
Mr. Casey Fitzgerald 
CWEA P3S Committee
FOTY Awards Subcommittee-North 
City of San Jose Environmental Services Dept. 
200 East Santa Clara Street, 7th
Floor San Jose, CA 95113 
408-793-5378 – Office 
408-209-6116 – Mobile

Southern California
Mr. Stephen Sealy
CWEA P3S Committee
FOTY Awards Subcommittee-South
Sanitation Districts of Los Angeles County
1955 Workman Mill Road
Whittier, CA 90601
562-908-4288 ext. 6613 or 3530 – Office
562-822-1666 – Mobile